USA Roster Is Set. Who Made The Cut?

The USA roster was revealed following the Winter Classic last night. Here’s who made the cut and who’s staying home.

Offense:

  • Dustin Brown – David Backes – Ryan Callahan
  • Max Pacioretty – Ryan Kesler – Patrick Kane
  • Zach Parise – Joe Pavelski – Phill Kessel
  • James Van Riemskyk – Paul Stastny – T.J. Oshie

Extras: Derek Stephan, Blake Wheeler

Defense:

  • Cam Fowler – John Carlson
  • Ryan McDonagh – Justin Faulk
  • Brooks Orpik – Paul Martin
  • Ryan Suter – Kevin Shattenkirk

Goalies:

  1. Ryan Miller
  2. Jonathan Quick
  3. Jimmy Howard

So who didn’t make the cut but should have?

Bobby Ryan

I can’t believe Bobby isn’t making the trip to Sochi. I love this guy and he deserves to be part of the team. 18 goals and 18 assists for 36 points on the season. He’s been one of the most underrated players in the NHL for years now. I mean the guy puts up 30 goals every season. That sounds like a dude I want on my squad. How do you grab Oshie and Stephan before Bobby? He can skate circles around some of the other guys.

Ben Bishop

Bishop shouldn’t just make the team, he should be the unquestioned starter. He’s been lights out this season, winning 21 games with a crazy good .935 save percentage and 1.89 goals against average. That’s studly. So why in the world are we sending this guy packing? We want Howard? Howard!? Have you watched this guy play lately? It’s gross. He’s hurt, and when he plays you can see it. He’s not the same guy this year. I mean don’t get me wrong, he’s one of the best American tenders in the game, but not right now, not this season.

Kyle Okposo

Ok has been quietly killing it all season. The dude is finally playing at a level the Isles can be proud of after picking him in the first round in 2006. With 40 points in 41 games he’s having the best season of his career. Ok is one of those guys that I’ve always had a soft spot for and now he’s wheeling and dealing like I knew he could. I really thought the great season would have got him a Sochi ticket but I guess it wasn’t enough.

Brandon Saad

I’m not saying Saad should have made the roster, I’m just saying I’d rather him than Stephan. There’s really no reasoning behind it to be honest. I think their skill level is pretty much identical. I just like Saad better, just got a feeling about this kid. He would have done big things in Sochi. I just know it.

Is there anyone is didn’t think of? Who should have made the squad?

What do you think?

